Serious Eats Meet Beauty Treats

I had a chance to sit down and chat with  Kathy YL Chan, a NY foodie + Serious Eats writer (she writes for the “Sugar Rush” and ” Lunch for One” columns) + food blogger (A Passion for Food is one of the blogs I obsessively follow). She is also a faithful Barneys beauty customer at our Madison Ave.  store and Barneys.com

Hi Kathy! What are your thoughts on the Barneys holiday windows?

I love it! There’s no other windows  quite like this – very chef-centric and fun!

Do you have any favorite restaurants that are run by a chef in our windows?

I have a few – but I would have to say Otto by Mario Batali is a restaurant I visit at least 3 times week. I always sit at the bar and order a bunch of dishes. The bartenders are the best and the price is more than reasonable.

Otto by Mario Batali

I am a fan of your columns for Serious Eats – especially Sugar Rush! When you are taking a break from shopping at our Madison store, where would you recommend for a sweet bite nearby?

You can go to Francois Chocolate Bar on 63rd and Madison. I recommend the verrines, pastries, and loaf cakes.

Francois Chocolate Bar verrines, pastries, and loaf cakes

Now let’s talk about another passion we share – beauty products! Are there any staples you cannot live without?

I love Kiehl’s and am never without their lip balm and am obsessed with their musk EDT. Kiehl’s French rosewater is a gem, but they discontinued it! I’ve since replaced it with Jurlique’s Rose Water Balancing Mist! Recently, I tried the new Aesop deodorant – the musky and woody scent is lovely and the spray form makes it is easy to use – my boyfriend and I are both fans.

What are you getting your family as gifts for the holidays?

I already got the Aesop Tokyo set for my sister and the travel size Mason Pearson pocket brush for my grandmother. I haven’t decided what to get mom and dad – I like sets with multiple products, any suggestions?

I would recommend the Revive Art Bag with five great skincare products inside for your mother and the Molton Brown Black Pepper set for your father.

Fantastic, thanks…maybe I should pick up the Revive set for myself as well!

Thanks Kathy! And have a FOODIE HOLIDAY!

– Kate Sung, Assistant Buyer – Apothecary + Treatment

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

