My Mexican Staycation

Inspired by one Barneys New York’s newest scarf collections, Hacienda Montaecristo, one summer afternoon in August I made my way to The Red Hook Ball Fields for a little Latin food tour.

Hacienda Montaecristo

In 2003, Francesca B. and Jack J.R. (pictured above) wandered across the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico in an old Ford from the 1970s where they discovered an abandoned textile factory from the 1960s. With the help and inspiration of local women, they began producing traditional Mexican scarves called Rebozo using antique wooden looms. Their Rebozo are 100% handmade in the same ancient technique of weaving as the Yucatan artisans have used for the last three centuries – all local and all Mexican.

Wearing my new handmade scarf, making my way through the food stalls, I felt like I was on a trip through Mexico, just like Francesca and Jack! I can still taste my chorizo huarache with chopped avocado…

Alyson Scholz, Associate Buyer – Women’s Accessories

2 Comments

  1. Sarah
    Posted 10.04.10 at 6:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love these scarves, I’ll have to go to Red Hook soon!

  2. Posted 10.19.10 at 2:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful scarves! I love to hear the background story to how designers developed their line, its always an interesting story. Thanks for sharing.

    If you have the opportunity, I would love to have you stop by my website to review my jewelry line, Garage Gypsy!

    http://www.garagegypsyjewelry.com

    Thanks! xo

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

