Swooning Over Swanepoel

Albertus Swanepoel Hats

I took a few millinery classes after graduation thinking I could pursue a career in hat design. I quickly found out that it’s much harder than it looks, but I came away with a deep appreciation of all kinds of head gear. Thankfully, I was able to find another way to combine my love of hats and my need to work: I’m a Barneys hat buyer. The hats I’m most excited about this fall are from the Suno collection. Albertus Swanepoel, our main man in the hat boutique, used a patchwork of Pendleton fabrics to create these one-of-a-kind pieces. Pendleton fabrics remind me of my husband’s childhood visits to the Pendleton Round-Up, a rodeo in the wilds of eastern Oregon. Something sentimental, used in a modern way, makes me want to wave my hat in the air.

Gretta Van Leuven, Senior Buyer – Women’s Accessories

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

