Confectionery Bliss

Macarons

My latest obsession? Macarons.
I know, I know, they’ve been around for ages.
Let me clarify, making my own macarons.

Come to think of it, I had my first macarons at Paris‘ renowned “Ladurée” more than a decade ago. As an avid cook and baker, I’d made an attempt to bake them, only to dismiss them as “not to be home-made.”

So why now?

Barneys had a company bake off in celebration of Earth Day this year. It turns out many talented bakers work at Barneys New York. The home made macarons particularly caught my eye.
I tracked them down to Caroline Lee, men’s denim assistant buyer.
Ahhhh! So they CAN be made….

Every weekend I’d crack the eggs, whip the whites, grind the nuts, pipe the batter, and be glued to the oven door waiting for my little macarons to rise. Then I’d get this non-edible flat mess!

Then this past weekend-
Several cookbooks, hours of researching, countless sacrificed weekends, and many –“Don’t-give-up!s-from-Caroline– later.

Voilà! My beautiful green tea macarons with green tea mascarpone cream and lemon macarons with lemon curd.

Thanks, Caroline, and everyone at Barneys who has been a guinea pig these  past weeks!

Yun Jung Venning, Sr. Assistant Buyer – Designer Handbags and Leather Goods

2 Comments

  1. Posted 07.14.10 at 5:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These look absolutely delicious!

  2. Posted 07.17.10 at 3:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Makes me wish that there were a smell and taste app for my computer.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

