Vegetable Summer

For the first time in years I have a garden. I haven’t planted seeds since I was a kid … and then it wasn’t really a choice … just something our parents organized so they could get us out of the house.

Now that I’m grown-up planting and weeding are the most wonderful things to do on the weekends. It is amazing that food grows from the little grains that we throw into the ground (I say this with the wonderment of the true city dweller I have become).

The lettuces that have come up (spring crop – they like the chilly weather!) have so much taste, the peas are sweet. And soon we’ll have these dark purple tomatoes ready to pick.

After weeding and picking we relax outside and have dinner in the garden. That is probably the best part; it rivals a day in the beach in my opinion.

Later this summer when we are inundated with more tomatoes then we can eat (I don’t can vegetables- that is where I draw the line) I will bring them into the office to share with everyone here!

Lauren Nevada Batchelder – Women’s Buying Office

in the garden

crop

lettuce

6 Comments

  1. Posted 06.27.10 at 8:18 am | Permalink | Reply

    What pretty veggies. I have just started canning this year and must say it’s not as scary as it looks. I have made pickles and apple butter and they came out great.

  2. Linda Hohenfeld
    Posted 06.27.10 at 11:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Lauren!
    One year I got a great crop of tomatoes and also do not do canning. There is an easy process called blanching. You put the tomato on a slotted spoon into boiling water. After half a minute or so, you put the tomato in an ice bath. Repeat with each beautiful tomato. The skin pulls right off, but the rest is still fresh and intact. Pack them in freezer bags and enjoy over the fall and winter!
    Devoted Barney’s shopper & gardener, Linda Marie

  3. British K
    Posted 06.27.10 at 11:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Edible-Garden-BBC-Television/114525925224298?v=wall

    Did you see this from the BBC in England. I’m sure you can find online. It’s set in a city garden. You can grow just about anything even in a tiny urban space.

  4. Elaine L Mayer
    Posted 06.27.10 at 3:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wonderful, I love playing in dirt also.

  5. Posted 06.27.10 at 6:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Cool veggies. I was thinking about growing some myself. Nice blog!!!!!

    please check out
    bukuroshe-bukuroshe.blogspot.com

  6. Amy J
    Posted 06.28.10 at 4:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    thats amazing =) i wish i had a green thumb !

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

