Summer Festival Style

I’m a total live music junkie, and take huge advantage of the great concert scene in New York, usually hitting at least a couple of shows every month. Last year my friends and I headed to Texas for Austin City Limits, and this year it was Palm Desert, CA for my first trip to Coachella! We had an amazing time seeing some of my favorite bands (highlights including the Dead Weather, LCD Soundsystem, Jay-Z, Miike Snow, Hot Chip, and Julian Casablancas) and people watching for all the great festival style that Coachella brings. My crew for the festival included a fashion sales rep, a designer, and a trend director, so getting dressed every day was a big part of the adventure. Now that I’m back in the city, friends of mine are gearing up for other festivals like Glastonbury, Sasquatch, Bonnaroo and Lollapalooza and have been hitting me up for what to pack advice! Without further ado, my favorite picks of the essential pieces for surviving the craziness (and heat!) of summer music festivals in style:

1. I’m a total dress girl, so spent Coachella in cute and comfy dresses and skirts. My top pick for dresses for grooving in the heat:
Go Green Go by Phillip Lim Jersey Embroidered Dress

2. Great sandals are a must!
Antik Batik Porter Thong

3. Sunglasses! I’m obsessed with the finds from Retro Sun- I’m a sucker for vintage shades! For Coachella I sported 80’s Paloma Picassos but love these Laura Biagiotti’s from the same vintage resource. I’m also always a fan of Dita’s oversized frames!
Retro Sun Vintage Laura Biagiotti Sunglasses
Dita Solitare Sunglasses

4. An easy-chic bag- cross body or shoulder is key for dancing and maneuvering crowds with ease. I stuck to my trusty Goyard Fidji hobo, which was so easy and lightweight even with all my overpacking every day. I also think these picks from Henry cuir and Alexander Wang would do the trick:
Henry cuir Barricade Satchel
Alexander Wang Brenda Washed Shoulder Bag

Lauren Painter- Associate Buyer, Womens Accessories

3 Comments

  1. Kyle
    Posted 06.18.10 at 6:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Your pairing of the lil’Kim MJ shirt with the floral skirt = love = respect.

  2. Posted 06.27.10 at 8:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    wow!!! looks like you guys had a blast….. I’m loving the sades 🙂 I LOVE LOVE THE NEW BLOG!!!

    Please check out my blog http://vannoyfashion.onsugar.com

  3. Posted 06.27.10 at 9:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    While not as impressed with the T-shirt and floral skirt combo as Kyle was, I am loving the shades, red floral dress and fedora.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

