Denim in my Genes!

Samantha Carter's First Pair of Jeans

When I was little, I used to cry every time my mom made me wear jeans; to be honest; I was more of a velvet dress and black patent leather Mary-Jane type of kid. However, she insisted that if I wanted to be cool, ripped Levi’s were about as good as it gets. I took her advice and made denim a staple in my adolescent wardrobe.

Fast forward a few years, and I find myself buying denim at Barneys New York, where I have been lucky enough to meet other self-proclaimed denim nerds, who have channeled their love of jeans into denim collections. One of these collections is Raleigh Denim out of North Carolina. I do not think Victor and Sarah Lytvinenko realized the full extent of my denim dorkiness during our first meeting, but I was in awe. This denim-loving couple, who alone with a tiny staff hand make and hand sign each jean, use Cone Mills denim, and rely on original machines, to finish each pair. Everything iconic and important about American denim is a part of what they do, and substantiates the recent return to, and admiration of, American brands. I can assure you that if you wear them, not only my mom, but everyone, will think you look cool.

Signed—
Samantha “Denim Diva”Carter

One Comment

  1. valerie hoffman maine dave hoffman maine
    Posted 01.02.11 at 1:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I wore this outfit when I was on HSN and it was a big hit! Barney’s rocks!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

